Week In Review

Meals for the Week

  • Chicken sandwiches with french fries
  • Leftovers
  • Turkey-ham, mac-n-cheese, mixed veggies
  • Rigatoni-D (pasta with chicken, mushrooms, & onions in a marsala-cream sauce)
  • Ham, broccoli, and cheese casserole – my favorite childhood dish
  • Steak, crab legs, shrimp with saffron rice and turnip greens
  • Pizza and movie night

Couple of notes:  The Rigatoni- D is our favorite dish at Maggiano’s restaurant.  We came across the recipe for it from a local news program while living in NC and now it’s a regular in our kitchen.  I did the same thing with Alice Springs Chicken from Outback.  Finding these recipes gives us our favorites eating-out meals without spending money at the restaurants and surprisingly uses stuff that we already have in our pantry and fridge.

Steak, crab legs, and shrimp must be crazy expensive, right?!  Nope, not when your husband was inspired by one of his blogs to check out various coupon sites.  He saved a whopping $45 in coupons on this entire meal and got it for less than one would usually pay just for the steak.  I’m not usually a coupon person since I get most of our food through co-op and I find that most coupons are for processed food that we try not to eat too often, but if he can get real seafood and steak from the butcher and still save $45, I need to look into this!

Around the House

Still nesting.  Random overwhelming urges to clean things, like the walls or the utility closet doors.

I think I need to make a responsibility chart for the family and the kids.  Jackson is asking to feed the dog and I think both boys would benefit from a chart instead of hearing mama ask them if they have done such and such.

Eye Towards Rhythm

We’re keeping up with the circle time adventure.  Looking forward to starting lessons with Alex next week.  I think Alex is looking forward to it too.  He asked to practice his cursive and math this week.

We added a new element this week, three more little people.  I’m looking after my dear friend’s children on Fridays while she works.  The two youngest fit right into circle time and seemed to enjoy it.  The oldest was in kindergarden at the school next door until 11.  I’ll need to be better about having an activity planned for all in the afternoon and definitely a formal snack.  Six kids play hard together and have monster appetites!

Handcrafting

Finished the little pink sweater.

I cast on the Mason-Dixon baby kimono in a baby blue cotton yarn today.  Hoping it will knit up quickly so I can start working on a hat for Iz and some birthday presents for Jackson.

Alex knit two more rows on his project and discovered that he was adding a stitch to each new row.  We discussed why this was happening and I think he won’t have the problem anymore.  I did the same thing when I first learnt o knit almost 5 years ago, lol!  His coaster is turning into a washcloth, we think.  He also let me know that he’d like to learn to purl, which is great since that’s the next thing in my lesson plans to teach him in handwork!  I love it when things work out like that!

On my mind

Children and chores

Keeping baby warm

Budget:  With big midwife bills due, student loans, and a couple of other unexpected other expenses, we’re doing a complete overhaul.  The thermostat got turned way up, any extra spending has been halted until further notice, and even minivan shopping has been put on hold until we figure a few things out.  Fun stuff friends!

Medicine Cabinet stock-up:  With all the talk about the flu and the vaccine, what do you have stocked in your medicine cabinet as the cold flu season come upon us?  I’m looking more at preventative for the kids especially, but also a few remedies and feel better type things too.  Do you give your kids a multivitamin or other supplements?

For the Weekend

We pick up milk at the farm this weekend, so that will likely be the focus on Saturday.

Hoping the books that I ordered come today so I can throw myself into last minute HS planning!

3 thoughts on “Week In Review

  1. For illness prevention we take multivitamins ( rainbow lite for both mama and viktor), and I keep in the house: vitamin C, olive leaf, garlic, and various teas. When we feel like we’re coming down with something I make up a mug of thieves inspired olive oil with garlic, rosemary, cloves, cinnamon, and eucalyptus oil in it. I heat up this mixture and put it on our necks near our lymph nodes, chest, back, and especially the bottoms of our feet which are then covered with warm socks.

  2. I give Claire a Trader Joe’s chewable every other day. On alternate days I give her a Flintstone’s with Iron since TJ’s doesn’t have iron. I also give her chewable C’s. She calls them candy. LOL! They tasted like bitter orange, but she likes them.

  3. Right now we all get Cod liver oil. I still need to get a mulitvitamin for the littles and since someone mentioned TJ’s maybe I will check there because I couldn’t find a kids vit at Meijer that didn’t have artificle sugar in it. I’m taking C, and need to get a vit for myself as well. The other day I woke up congested so I added garlic and eccinachea to my supplements and increased the C….I was better the next day. We also have cold care tea and I’m going to have to get Autumn’s theives oil recipe.

Leave a Reply

