Kitchen Helper

I loved wood working as a child and teenager.  My parents encouraged me to help hammer nails when they built our back deck.  I spent hours in my grandpa’s garage with him and his tools helping him craft his projects.  And sometimes, he would be the one helping me to create my projects – like the dog bed for my brother’s Pound Puppies that I gave him for Christmas one year.  He taught me about being safe with the tools, how to measure twice and cut once, and all about keeping a neat workspace.  I enjoyed it so much that I used my electives in junior high and high school to take more wood shop classes.

I now have my grandpa’s cherished tools in our garage, and thanks to my wonderful husband, they are being put to great use!  Our first project when we moved this past fall was to build a workbench to mount and organize the tools.  My husband found a design that worked and build it in a single afternoon.  Winter came, and our uninsulated garage became too cold to do any further wood working, so I retreated inside and found inspiration in Ana White’s blog.  My project wish list grew and grew!

We got our first taste of spring last week and with the warm weather, my husband headed out to the garage to build.  He built this kitchen helper tower using these plans.

The kids LOVE it!  It has 4 adjustable heights, which makes it perfect for all the kids.  The kids and I will be sanding it this week and hope to paint it in the coming weeks.

Jackson can’t wait to wash the dishes on a regular basis, and Izzy wants to help bake some cookies.

And me… well, I am over the moon and will think of the wonderful man who inspired my love of woodworking and the wonderful man who inspires me each and every day whenever I walk into my kitchen and have my kids able to give a helping hand.

3 thoughts on “Kitchen Helper

  1. That is SO cool !!! I think its great you like woodworking. I wish I spent more time with my grandpa in the garage, but you know what I married someone just like him :). Now I can learn from him.

    Great job Papa Acorn!

Leave a Reply

