Preparations

With 3 days until Thanksgiving and 31 days until Christmas, I’ve kicked us into high gear so we can prepare for the holidays.

A couple of weeks ago, I made an apple pie.  Instead of making just one crust for the single apple pie, I made four crusts and stuck the extra three in the freezer for Thanksgiving pies.  I also roasted a half dozen pumpkins and pureed them over the last month.  Yum, how I love pumpkin!

I knew that we would owe a big check to our food co-op for the local turkey in addition to our monthly chicken order, bi-weekly egg order, and our weekly produce share, so I spread out all of the other extra groceries and expenses due to Thanksgiving during the first couple weeks of Thanksgiving.  I have a hidden bag of potato chips, several quarts of frozen homemade chicken stock, frozen cranberries, frozen pumpkin puree, a few boxes of boxed stuffing (it isn’t Thanksgiving for my husband without it), blocks of cream cheese, 8 pounds of butter, a 10-pound bag of sugar, a few bags of white chocolate chips, and extra baking goods.  This is both for the feast and holiday baking in the coming weeks.  In addition, I planned a few extra meals into the weekly meal plan last week to last us through to Thanksgiving so I have no reason at all to go to the grocery store this week.

I’ll be making the cranberry sauce and the pies on Wednesday, as well as doing most of the vegetable prep so the kitchen will be my husband’s on turkey day.  He makes a wonderful turkey (his secret is the brine that starts 48 hours before the roasting) and his gravy is so good that I freeze the left-overs so I can savor it over the following weeks.  He also makes some mean mashed potatoes.  I’m getting hungry just thinking of all this food!

As for Christmas prep, I’ve been collecting and making gifts all year.  I’m still doing a sprint with gifts, more so than I would like, but my load has been lessened and I won’t be going crazy at the mall or anything.

I took the boys to the local fabric superstore and we stocked up on felt today.  It was on sale plus I had a coupon, so we’ll be a happy crafting bunch for all of December and beyond.  We’re building houses for our gnomes out of the felt and old oatmeal canisters.  Tomorrow, we’ll be  adding a couple of gnomes to our family to celebrate fall and Thanksgiving (we should have done this last month, but time got away from me and this is my last chance to get it done before focusing on Christmas/winter gnomes.)  Then, next week, we’ll be working on a tree skirt to fit our odd-shaped Christmas tree holder and an Advent calendar.  We’ll work on crafting a pocket each day so that next year, we’ll have a place for a little surprise to hide.   More to come on those projects in the future.

Ahhh!  It feels good to have a plan!

Leave a Reply

