Advent Calendar

Every year, I go out and buy a cardboard Hallmark-style Advent calendar for the boys to open.  Last year, I made the mistake of buying two calendars for the boys that had chocolate hidden behind each door.  Alex can handle his sugar, but Jackson… oh no!

Every year, I promise myself that I will make an Advent calendar for the following year so I can stop buying the paper ones and create a lovely tradition with the kids and maybe even stuff my own surprises behind the doors, whether they be bible verses, lyrics to a Christmas song, or a small gift.

Well, I’m finally doing it with the kids’ help!  I decided on a Christmas tree with a round ornament for each day of Advent.  This year, we’re taking time each day to decorate each round piece of felt with a picture.  The first day, we made a penguin, the second a stocking, and who knows what we’ll come up with for the rest.  After the Holidays are over, I plan on embroidering numbers either on the ornaments or the tree itself and sewing them into place to form pockets to hold treasures for next year.  The kids are enjoying re-arranging all the circles and trying to figure out what make out of future ornaments.

Advent Calendar

Leave a Reply

