Christmas Daybook

Go visit Peggy at The Simple Woman to see more Daybook entries.

Outside my window. . . It’s still dark and raining.  I can see the reflection of our Christmas tree and all the white lights.

I am thinking. . . about slowing down and enjoying the Holiday.

I am thankful for. . . Izzy’s quick recovery from a stomach bug that had her vomiting less than 2 days ago.

From the schoolroom. . . nothing.  Just focused on Christmas and family right now.  We’ll get back to school stuff in January.

From the kitchen. . . the last of the baking and the beginnings of preparations for Christmas brunch begin:

•     3 chickens are being roasted and will be turned into gourmet chicken salad

Vegetables being chopped and breakfast meat being fried for frittatas

Dough rising for monkey bread

Cream cheese softening for chip dip

Scones defrosting

Pretzels being coated in chocolate by the boys

Chocolate peppermint cookies cooling

Sugar cookies awaiting frosting and sprinkles

Chicken stock defrosting for homemade dog biscuits

I am wearing. . . Pajamas – I need to jump in the shower.

I am creating. . . a few last-minute surprise presents… shhh!

I am going. . . to Christmas Eve mass with my grandma.

I am reading. . . Who has time for books right now?

I am hoping. . . for the true meaning of the Holidays to shine through in all.

I am hearing. . .Giggles from the kids and a wet dog shaking water everywhere.

Around the house. . . there are several loads of clean laundry waiting to be folded and put away, floors that need to be swept and vacuumed, you get the idea.

One of my favorite things. . . Our Christmas tree!

A few plans for the rest of the week. . . Mass, hanging out with family, eating good food, and maybe a bit of sleep.

I am praying for…families that have lost loved ones and jobs over the past year.

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

Path not taken

Leave a Reply

