Happy New year!

I love new beginnings.  We celebrated the end of 2008 and the beginning of the new year with the kids last night by hanging out at the kitchen table playing card games.  We all had a bit of bubbly – carbonated fruit juice for the kids, which they loved and a bit of champagne for James and I.

We talked about making changes and setting goals for the New Year and I enjoyed hearing what everyone had to say.  Alex would like to share with his sister more and Jackson wants to watch shows.

A few of my resolutions:

To communicate more effectively and restrict yelling for extreme situations.  I love the idea of never yelling, but I don’t think that’s a realistic goal.


I need to take care of myself better by making better food choices, giving myself some down time, and asking for help.  I can’t do a good job taking care of those I love most without first taking care of myself.

Create a rhythm that respects all of us.  This is my big one that I’ll be putting a lot of energy into this year.   We need to improve our evening routine and institute an earlier bedtime for certain little people.  It’s not fair to anyone to wait until Jackson is exhausted to try to get him to sleep.  We need a consistent morning routine so the kids know what to expect with each new day.  I’d like to have more time to read with the kids and to be creative with the kids.  Alex is bored and is screaming for more intellectual stimulation so learning is a big priority.  I’m sure I’ll be blogging more about this in the future.

So what are some of your goals for the New Year?

Leave a Reply

