Playing, Reading, Knitting, Sewing

Playing

The kids are loving the fuller days and all the fun activities and stories that Little Acorn Learning has provided for us.  They each made healthy bear claw snacks yesterday and will be painting animal tracks in a bit.  And, wouldn’t you know how handy the farm playmat is for acting out the stories!

Izzy has become a bookworm and can’t be read to enough.  She especially loves animal books at the moment, but really any book is fair game.  She’s familiar with Curious George, Clifford, Spot, Thomas, and Santa (who says “Ho, ho, ho!” she told me today.)

And between all the learning, reading and playing, I’m getting snippets of time to work on knitting my lonely lace scarf ( because it’s my only project on needles at the moment – so tempting to fix this problem) and sewing up a quilt.  Actually, I made a deal with myself about the quilt.  I’ve been drooling over some fabric for months, so I get to order a bit of fabric after I use the fabric that I already have to make this quilt.  The one and only other quilt I’ve ever made took a full three years to complete, so I figured it would take me awhile before I could go shopping.  But then new fabrics came out that I love even more and that was the kick in the butt that I needed.  I started it 2 days ago and will be finishing the top tonight!  I’m hoping to stop by the fabric store to get batting and muslin for the back so I can get to the quilting part tomorrow.

Oh, and since I’ve been so busy, please do excuse the excessive amount of dirty dishes, piles of laundry, and toys scattered about.  There will be time to deal with all of that later… while I’m waiting for the postal service to deliver my fabric!

Leave a Reply

