All Done!

Quilt

I finished up the quilt on Sunday and even managed to wash and dry it so it would get all crinkled and fluffy.  It’s far from perfect and the quilting isn’t straight, but I’m happy with it no less.

Jackson is just awesome for feeding my craftiness.  He get so excited and happy when I finish a project.  He seriously acts like it’s the coolest, greatest thing in all the world and dives into the finished project for hours with no other focus.  The finished quilt was no exception.  He kept it wrapped around himself all Sunday and the first thing out of mouth Monday morning was “quilt.”  He doesn’t forget.

Initially, I had no plans for this quilt, then halfway through I learned about my parents buying a condo in Florida and thought it might be a nice condo-warming/double birthday present for them (both their birthdays and the closing date are in the same week.)  But it is only a twin-size quilt and I wasn’t expecting such a strong reaction from the kids.  I guess what I’m getting at is that I’m still unsure about the fate of this quilt.

I received my yummy fabric in the mail on Saturday for my next quilting project for Izzy.   I need to figure out if it will be enough or if I need to supplement it with a bit of solids.  I’m thinking about making a quilt like this one.  But I’m also really fond of the ragged square quilt and the coin quilt.  Frankly, it’s my goal to make all three this year.  Can you tell that I really enjoy AmandaJean’s blog?

In other crafting projects, I’m about halfway done with my lacey scarf.  It was my goal to have it done before the end of the month, but I ran into a problem when I dropped a stitch from the yarn-over portion of the pattern on Sunday night.  I’ve tried twice to figure out how to fix it without success.  James kindly asked me to put it aside after a few tears and choice words on my part.  So if anybody can help me find the right way to get my stitches back on track, I will be forever grateful.

Being incredibly frustrated, I needed to knit so I cast on another project: a Harry Potter hat for Alex.  Jackson claimed the hat that I made for Alex last year, so I told him I’d make him another one of his choice.  No surprise that he chose the one he did.  I’ll have that done before lunch today and either cast on for matching mittens, another HP hat for Jackson, who wants to be just like Alex, or maybe a pair of socks for me.

And in non-crafting news, Izzy’s dentist appointment last Friday brought less than happy news involving general anesthesia, 2 crowns and 4 fillings.  It will likely be happening next month, so I’ll be keeping my hands quite busy knitting and sewing and the house will be deep cleaned and de-cluttered while not sleeping and worrying about things that I cannot control.

Leave a Reply

