13 Weeks

13 Weeks

Ahh, the end of my first trimester and the beginning of the second.  I’m a happy pregnant lady most of the time, only suffering from a single day of  of migraine misery and insomnia around 3 AM.  Belly is steadily growing, which I can only assume means that I’m growing a great placenta and a healthy little one.

We met with a midwife last week and will likely hire her for prenatal care this week, so I’m looking forward to hearing that wonderful whoosh-whoosh sound of a heartbeat soon.

Things around the family are really starting to move into transition mode.  Izzy isn’t getting as much mama’s milk these days and is in a constant state of hunger.  Add this to her having her own toddler bed next to our “big” bed that she sometimes sleeps in and her starting to use the toilet and whoa –  she’s turning into a big girl in a blink of an eye!

Household tasks are also in transition.  With the family growing, I’ve noticed that dishwasher is being run more than once a day on some days.  Laundry is increasing ever so slightly.  I’m having to cook a bit more for meals.  And housework needs to be done more frequently.  I’m trying to adjust to the growing needs of our house and family while still taking it easy  and keeping something of a rhythm.  Oh, who am I kidding!?  I’ve failed at anything resembling a rhythm since being pregnant, but I’m trying to get back on track as I gain more energy and patience in my second trimester.

Leave a Reply

