Quilt Along

Fabric

In my effort to be ready for Christmas before the arrival of our little one in October, I decided to join the Old Red Barn Quilt Along.  It should be fun and educational.  I’ve never done a quilt completely start to finish and I know that I’ve skipped steps with the two quilts that I have created.  In theory, I’ll have others cheering me on and have a forum to ask questions in case I get stuck and I’ll have a complete quilt come the end of June!

My paternal grandparents have been hinting that they would like a quilt for the past three years since I gifted the first one to my maternal grandparents.  With grandpa on dialysis, he’s almost always cold and low on energy, so I decided that there is no better time than now to create a quilt for them.

I picked out the fabric at the big fabric store not far from here and I’m using some recently handed-down fabric as well.  I’m going for a country fourth-of July feel and I hope that I succeeded with my fabric choices.  I think that these will work well in their house, no matter where they decide use it.

Oh, and did I mention, that there will be a weekly give-away associated with the quilt along?  Yet another bonus to sewing a quilt now!

Leave a Reply

