Quilt Along: Basting and Quilting

DSCF8867

I thought I was officially one week behind when I didn’t get a chance at all last week to baste the quilt together.  I looked for opportunities for the kids to be occupied in their own play long enough for me to ensure a clean and swept kitchen floor to spread out, tape, and pin the three layers of the quilt together.  It takes 1-2 hours from start to finish.  The opportunity never came, so I made the best of things by knitting in the small snippets of time that were blessed upon me.

Well, I finally got the chance this afternoon, shortly after lunch and seized it!  Everything is ironed, pinned, and awaiting quilting.  And then I discovered that two weeks have been allotted for this phase of the quilt along and I’m not behind after all!  Yay!

So, now I get to focus solely on quilting this week.  I was thinking that I would try free-motion quilting.  It seems like fun and it’s yet another aspect of sewing that I’ve never attempted.  The picture is my practice effort and I’m not too sure about purposefully doing that to the quilt at this point in time.  That seems a bit scary.  I’m going to give myself a few more practice sessions, put in a new needle, and try it with the good thread and see what it looks like before making any final decisions.  The discussion groups say it’s all about practice and that you’ll hardly notice the harsher edges after the quilt has been washed and fluffed.

Leave a Reply

