Autumn Gnomes

DSCF9266I hand-painted this natural wool felt (I bought a half yard at JoAnn’s last year using a 40% off coupon – I believe they still carry it) using Wilton cake dyes.  I was hoping for more browns and darker colors, but I used only what I had on hand and did attempt a second layer with more browns with little improvement.  I was still happy with the results and let it dry so I could cut into it.

DSCF9297I made these two little guys.

DSCF9305I used my sewing machine to do the decorative leave stitching around the cape and the brim of the hat.

DSCF9282I attempted to hand embroider a leaf on the the hat and the cape.  I hope it looks like a leaf and not a feather.

One will be going to my nature table swap partner and the other will be for Jackson’s birthday.  I might have to whip up another one or two though because both Izzy and Alex were pretty taken with these little guys too.

4 thoughts on “Autumn Gnomes

Leave a Reply

