Happy New Year!

Last year my focus was on gratitude.  I tried to find a way to be thankful for every situation that was thrown at me.  It wasn’t always easy, but it always led me to find peace, and what a wonderful feeling that is!

My motto for 2010 is “Back to the Basics.”  I want to get by on less so we can save more, rid ourselves of the clutter, and learn/practice basic skills.

Some things I’d like to do this year:

  • Knit myself a sweater
  • Back to baking bread regularly
  • Bake biscuits from scratch and refrain from buying them in a can
  • Try needle felting
  • Make window stars
  • Read more books by myself and with the kids
  • Spend more time with extended family
  • Wood crafting with my new rotary tool – Can’t wait to try those patterns at Wee Folk Art!
  • All handmade gifts (not necessarily by me)
  • Soak and cook beans without them being hard
  • Grow a bountiful garden
  • Pray daily
  • Refrain from convenience food
  • Play outside more
  • Live by the budget
  • Hug my kids more
  • Practice the art of story telling without notes or a book
  • See the ocean (it’s been 4 years and how I miss it!)
  • Sew a couple of quilts

I’m sure there’s more, but it’s a good start for now.  Many blessing to you and your family in this new year!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I have a great biscuit recipe, they turn out so yummy. We eat them with jam, or as breakfast sandwiches.
    1 c flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt. Mix dry ingredients, add 2 tablespoons cold butter, I grate it to make it easy to mix, then add 1/2 cup milk or buttermilk.
    Don’t overmix, put out on a board, lightly flatten out, and use a biscuit cutter or drinking glass to cut out.
    Bake at 450F for 10 minutes. This makes 4-5 big biscuits.

    I just found your blog- off to read some more 🙂

Leave a Reply

