Spring Cleaning: Entryway, Living Room, and Playroom!

After spending almost two weeks away from home with minimal belongs, it be came ever so clear how much we have at home and don’t need.  A big de-clutter and simplification process began.  I made a mental list to go through movies, books, clothes, toys, and even furniture to simplify our lives.  We took four boxes to Goodwill last week and got rid of (ok, they’re out in the garage waiting) two big pieces of furniture.  I still have work to do, but I’m afraid that I may not get to it, so pictures had to be taken and shared while in a good place.

BEFORE:

the entryway

living room (TV and computer wall)

living room (patio wall) and playroom

living room (sofa corner)

playroom

playroom with sofa moved (mid cleaning though you really can’t tell)

and……….

AFTER:

entryway – All winter hats, gloves, mittens, and coats were moved to the closet for summer storage.  Summer hats, sunglasses, sunscreen, and mike helmets took their place on the shelf and spring jackets were hung.  My knitting bag, purse, Ergo, and dog leash are also hung on the rack.  There are also two blankets folded up on that shelf for chilly mornings and cuddle time during movies.

living room (desk) – This is what people first see when they come into our house.  It’s very difficult for me to maintain a clean desk given that’s where I spend a significant amount of time on the computer, playing bills, knitting, etc.  It could still use some improvement, but it’s real and I like it that way.  Notice the missing entertainment center and missing piles of stuff on the floor?

living room and playroom windows – The only change here is that everything has been picked up.  I found some curtains back in a corner that I decided to wash and put up in the playroom because that meant they’re not taking up space on a shelf.  I like the color that they add to the room.

living room (couch corner) – The bookshelf now has function!  At first, I put all the kid DVDs on two of the shelves that came from the entertainment center.  That was a mistake that I corrected this morning after hearing the kids beg several times a day (many days in a row) to watch this movie or that movie that they never realized that we owned.  I made this the baby’s corner with the sheepskin on the floor and a basket full of baby toys on the floor.  The bottom two shelves have the kids’ favorite toys that are also safe for baby.  The third shelf house a clock puzzle, nesting bowls, and a bucket of sidewalk chalk and will likely need to be re-done in a couple of months when little Autumn masters standing.  I have some frequently used school books and a few family DVDs on the tops shelf.  Our nature table is the top of this bookcase.

living room looking into playroom – You can see the blue curtains here and the lack of yet another entertainment center that was used as a toy cabinet.  Many of the toys that were in the cabinet have yet to be gone through and the books that were sitting on top of the cabinet are now on top of the tall bookshelf.  The wooden kids table and chairs (this was in the kitchen) took the place of the toy cabinet.  I’m pondering putting a small shelf over the table to hold art supplies and a some sort of wall file to hold paper.

playroom – Um, this is clutter corner at the moment and has big room for improvement.  I haven’t even started with this area yet.  The bookshelf is crying for attention.  There used to be a train table in the middle of the room with the two carts under it holding wooden train track and mega-blocks.  Three of the four legs broke and after several quick fixes were attempted and failed, a permanent solution needs to be made and I just don’t have the time for it right now with baby in arms so much.  So we have plenty of open space for the kids to play.

playroom library – You can see the other cart full of train tracks, the barn, and the knitted farmyard rug here.  The two small bookshelves contain all of our board books and picture books.  I did go through them and get rid of a couple dozen.  I plan on putting away another shelf’s worth of books and possibly switching to a rotating basket system in the future.  My collection of Everyday Food takes one shelf, which I use every week for meal planning.

playroom looking into living room – Loving all the open space!  We mounted the TV to the wall, but I really dislike all the cords hanging down.  We need to do something about that before the baby discovers the joys of pulling on them.  We use the little chalkboard for circle time, but a certain 3yo was climbing on it to reach the TV, so not sure if it will stay there or move.

So that’s today’s tour!  Hopefully, I’ll come back in a day or two with a few further improvements, but I make no guarantees.  I’d love to tell you to stay tuned for the kitchen and bedroom tours, but you could be in for quite a wait.  This is a slow process and that’s okay!

3 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning: Entryway, Living Room, and Playroom!

  1. Oh you are so brave showing before pictures. No matter how hard I try our computer desk has become the go to place to plop everything on too.

  2. It looks beautiful. I am proud of you for all that work. I love seeing your home in all its incarnations from messy to organized and back again. I know how great it can feel to get rid of so much baggage that you thought you needed, and find all that space underneath! I especially like Autumn’s corner and bookcase, the new curtains, and of course the farm play rug ❤

Leave a Reply

