And now she’s 6!

Six years ago (yesterday – I’m a day late in posting), we were blessed with our first baby girl.  She asks me to tell her her birth story every night before bed, so in honor of her birthday, I thought I would share it here too.Picture 027_2@0 I woke up around 7 that March morning with contractions, which was normal as I had been having Braxton-Hicks contractions for over half my pregnancy.  They felt a little different so I practiced what I preached to my students (I was a certified Bradley Method childbirth instructor at the time)  to see if maybe this was the real deal.  I tried resting through the contractions in bed.  I walked through them. I drank a glass of water. I tried to eat, but instead fed the boys cereal and started a movie for them to watch.  Before trying the last thing on the check list, I decided to wake up James to let him know what was going on and that I was getting in the shower.

He knew.  I still wasn’t convinced, but he knew.

I got out of the shower and found that James had everything ready in the bedroom.  I think I finally realized that it was the real deal, but thought we still had time.  Only a half an hour had passed since that first contraction of the morning.  I buried my head, curled up on the ground with each contraction.  I was calm and repeating affirmations to myself.  This was transition.

I began humming and moaning when James asked me if I was pushing.  I said no.

Again, he knew. James called the midwife.

We anticipated that this labor could go fast because Jackson came in 90 minutes, so we had discussed the “what ifs” with our midwife beforehand.  The drive to the birth center was 40 minutes before adding in the fact that the 3-lane interstate was down to one-lane due to construction and it was rush hour.

Hearing that I was pushing, the midwife insisted that we come to the birth center.  We knew there wasn’t time, but when we told her that, she hung up on James.

A minute later, I calmly said, “There’s the head.”

James reached down just in time to catch our sweet baby.  He put her on my chest and covered us with a blanket.  It took us a minute to realize that we didn’t check to see if it was a boy or girl, so I peaked under the blanket and announced, “It’s a GIRL!”

Picture 030_2@0James tucked us into bed and cleaned up the bedroom.  He then went to the nearest store and bought every pink thing they had and a fish scale so we could weigh our little one.  She was 20″ long and 6 lbs 15 oz.  It was an amazing birth!  And she is an amazing girl!IMG_7353

Happy Birthday Izzy!  

3 thoughts on “And now she’s 6!

  1. this was wonderful! I don’t know that I’d ever heard the full story (amazing job mama!) and that picture up top with you, baby Izzy looking so much like her sisters and with little blond Jackson looking just like my little blondie does right now…*heartmelting*

Leave a Reply

