Asking

Fig & Me  (if you’ve never seen her blog, prepare to be blown away by her amazing talent!  She makes the most beautiful dolls for little ones!) posted this TED talk a couple of weeks ago:

And it has me thinking about the power of asking.

It’s hard for me to ask… to ask for help, to ask a question.  Why is that?  Maybe it’s the act of making myself vulnerable and showing my weaknesses.  Maybe it’s admitting that I don’t know something or that I can’t do it all.  Maybe I’m scared of the response that I’ll get when I do ask.

But looking at the other side of it, I feel honored when someone asks things of me.  I have new moms contacting me for help, and I feel blessed to share what I’ve learned along the way.  My kids asking questions about the world they don’t quite understand yet seek my comfort.  A friend needing help to complete a task that she can’t do on her own.  I feel needed.  I have a purpose.  Love.

And it reminds me how much we really do need each other and that I need to do more asking.

Leave a Reply

